Tuesday, July 16, 2024
A- A A+


Academic Chairs instituted under School of Letters include:

  1. Vaikom Muhammad Basher Chair in honour of the well known author was instituted in 1993. Prof. R. E. Asher, well known linguist and translator, Prof. Jayanta Mahapatra, well known poet and translator and Prof. Susie Tharu, academic and theorist have occupied this important position from time to time. Under the aegis of the Chair several seminars and workshops were conducted. The main objective of the Chair is to conduct enquiries in fiction studies.
  2. Kuriakose Elias Chavara Chair was reconstituted in 2020 in honour of the great social and religious reformer St. Chavara Kuriakose. Prof. M. K. Sanoo, the reputed orator and scholar is the present incumbent. The Chair periodically conducts lectures and webinars exploring the trajectories of social and cultural transformation of Kerala society and its modernity.